St. Petersburg Times Online: Sports

Weather | Sports | Forums | Comics | Classifieds | Calendar | Movies

Winston Cup

Fast Facts

By Times staff

© St. Petersburg Times, published February 14, 2003

Of the past 20 rookies of the year, four have gone on to win Winston Cup titles: Rusty Wallace (top rookie in '84, champion in '89), Alan Kulwicki (ROY 1986, champ '92), Jeff Gordon (ROY 1993, champ '95, '97, '98, 2001) and Tony Stewart (ROY 1999, champ 2002) ... Six drivers are competing for rookie of the year: Greg Biffle, Larry Foyt, Jamie McMurray, Casey Mears, Tony Raines and Jack Sprague. ... WQYK-AM 1010 plans to broadcast the entire Winston Cup schedule, with most races live. WQYK also airs NASCAR Live each Tuesday at 7 p.m. ... NASCAR's official Web site is

© Copyright, St. Petersburg Times. All rights reserved.