St. Petersburg Times Online: Sports

Weather | Sports | Forums | Comics | Classifieds | Calendar | Movies

International Race of Champions

By Times Staff Writer

© St. Petersburg Times, published February 14, 2003

WHAT: A four-race International Race of Champions all-star series with drivers from NASCAR, IRL IndyCar, CART and World of Outlaws. The series began with the 1973-74 season and each season pits 12 drivers from various forms of motorsports against each other in identically prepared Pontiac Firebirds.

SCHEDULE: Today -- at Daytona International Speedway; April 5 -- at Talladega Superspeedway; July 12 -- at Chicagoland Speedway; Aug. 2 -- at Indianapolis.

DRIVERS: Greg Biffle (BGN); Mike Bliss (Trucks); Kurt Busch (WC); Helio Castroneves (IRL); Felipe Giaffone (IRL); Kevin Harvick (WC); Sam Hornish (IRL); Jimmie Johnson (WC); Steve Kinser (World of Outlaws); Danny Lasoski (World of Outlaws); Mark Martin (WC); Ryan Newman (WC).


NOTES: Harvick was the sixth rookie driver to win IROC, joining Mark Donohue (1974), Harry Gant (1985), Al Unser Jr. (1986), Geoff Bodine (1987) and Ricky Rudd (1992). ... True Value is leaving as sponsor after this season, and IROC is seeking a replacement. ... Defending Winston Cup champion Tony Stewart declined an invitation to race IROC this season. ... Kinser is making his first appearance in IROC since 1996. ... Talladega returned to the schedule in place of California Speedway. ... ESPN2 will broadcast today's race at 10:30 p.m. Sunday.


© Copyright, St. Petersburg Times. All rights reserved.