St. Petersburg Times Online: Sports

Weather | Sports | Forums | Comics | Classifieds | Calendar | Movies

Who's on TV

By Times staff

© St. Petersburg Times, published February 21, 2003

In the booth

Bob Varsha

Has a racing background -- as a runner, earning a varsity letter in cross country and track at Dartmouth College. Went on to be a two-time Olympic Trials marathon finalist while attending Emory University Law School. A former attorney, Varsha got his start at Turner Broadcasting covering a local running race, and moved to ESPN in 1986 to cover motorsports, including Formula One, CART, sports cars, drag racing and motorcycles. Moved to Speedvision in 1999, where he hosted Speedvision News, Raceweek and Speedvision's coverage of Formula One, the 24 Hours of Le Mans and the 12 Hours of Sebring.

Tommy Kendall

Kendall started racing professionally at the age of 18 and within 12 years had won nine pro championships, 39 races and 63 pole positions. In 1995 he was named the Trans-Am Rookie of the Year and is a four-time SCCA Trans-Am champion (1990, '95-97). He was the IMSA Triple Crown champion in 1991, and the 1997 Racer Magazine Racer of the Year and Road Racer of the Year. He also has 14 NASCAR starts, with one top-10 finish. This is his second year as co-anchor of Speed Channel's CART coverage.


Derek Daly

Daly raced for 17 years in Formula One, CART and World Sports Car for Williams Grand Prix Engineering, BMW, Nissan and TWR Jaguar. The two-time 12 Hours of Sebring winner also won the Formula Ford Championship in 1975 and the British Formula Three Championship in 1977. He had six starts in the Indianapolis 500 and started working for ESPN in 1985. He opened the Derek Daly Performance Driving Academy in 1996.

Calvin Fish

Has raced in Karts, Formula Ford 1600, Formula Ford 2000, Sports 2000, SCCA Trucks, Formula 3, Formula Atlantic, Indy Lights and IMSA. In 1987, he was the Formula Atlantic champion with three wins and was the IMSA GTO class winner at Sebring and Daytona in 1990. Has worked for ESPN, Speedvision and NBC, and does live radio for the IMSA series.

Scott Pruett

The two-time Trans-Am champion (1987, '94) will race for the Rocketsports Racing stable this season, driving a Jaguar. His last full season of Trans-Am competition was in 1994, though he has sparingly raced in recent years, posting victories at the 2002 Rolex 24 Hours of Daytona GTS class and the 2001 24 Hours of Le Mans LMGTS class. He raced in CART on and off from 1988-99 and won five times. Pruett ran his rookie season in NASCAR in 2000, and drove for Ganassi Racing in the 2002 Winston Cup race at Watkins Glen, running as high as third and finishing sixth. He joined Speed Channel last year.

-- Compiled by John C. Cotey.

© Copyright, St. Petersburg Times. All rights reserved.