St. Petersburg Times online  
Hockey School
the professorIndividual awards

How many are there?: A few days after the postseason concludes, nine notable awards are presented at a gala for achievement in the regular season: the Vezina (best goaltender); Hart (MVP); Norris (best defenseman); Selke (best defensive forward); Masterton (perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication); King Clancy (humanitarianism); Lady Byng (gentlemanly play); Calder (best rookie); and Jack Adams (best coach). Immediately after the Stanley Cup is awarded on the ice by commissioner Gary Bettman, the Conn Smythe Trophy (playoff MVP) is handed out.

Who has votes?: Different awards mean different voters. The Adams, for instance, is decided by the broadcasters association. The Vezina is awarded by the general managers. Several, including the Hart, the Lady Byng and the Calder, fall under the Hockey Writers Association.

Do the players have a say?: There is an honor separate from the gala, named the Lester B. Pearson award. This is given to the league's most outstanding player as voted on by the players. Vancouver's Markus Naslund won the award last season.

What's in store this year?: The gala is June 10 and there will be a strong Lightning presence. Martin St. Louis is a finalist for the Hart and the Lady Byng. Brad Richards is also up for the Byng. John Tortorella, who finished second last season, is a finalist for the Jack Adams.

– Compiled by Tim Sullivan

© Copyright 2006 St. Petersburg Times. All rights reserved