Key West extends mark with 11th

By wire services
Published May 25, 2005

Key West won its record 11th state baseball title Tuesday, scoring seven runs in the first inning on its way to a 7-0 victory over Orlando Bishop Moore in the Class 3A final.

Daryl Lewis pitched a complete game and struck out seven for Key West (25-5) as the Conchs won their first title since 1998 when they were in 4A. Tampa Catholic is second in the state with nine championships.

In the first, Clinton Storr led off with a single, Ralph Henriquez walked and D.J. Randolph was hit by a pitch. Rightfielder Desi Perez's double down the leftfield scored Storr and Henriquez and Randolph came in on Blake Barber's single to left.

Stephen Lopez came in to pitch for starter Andy Horton but walked Daryl Lewis and Tony Lopez to force in another run. Ezra Josephson's run-scoring single came off of the third pitcher of the inning, Eric Broberg. One out later Storr came back up again and doubled to right center, scoring two.

Bryan Seamon had two hits of the four hits for Bishop Moore (27-5).

CLASS A: Jacksonville Eagle's View rallied with two outs in the seventh to beat Sarasota Christian 6-2 and win the championship.

Eagle's View (18-12), which won its first title in only its second playoff appearance, scored five in the seventh after coming into the final inning trailing 2-1.

Ian McRee's three-run triple off of Brandon Yoder put Eagle's View in front to stay.

With two out in the seventh, Zach Waller was hit by a pitch and Josh Adams walked to load the bases with Nick Bendenelli, who had reached on a fielder's choice, at third.

After McRee's triple, Tom Baker walked and Brad Rohaty came in from centerfield to pitch. McRee scored on an error and Paul Morales' single scored pinch-runner Jordon Stolte.

Todd Yoder's double to left tied it at 1 in the fourth for Sarasota Christian (22-7) and Brandon Yoder's run-scoring single in the fifth gave the team the lead.