St. Petersburg Times
Online: Tech Times
 tampabay.com
Print storySubscribe to the Times

Golf

The 19th hole

By BOB HARIG, Times Staff Writer
Published May 26, 2005

DIVOTS

MONTY'S DROP: It happened two months ago, but Colin Montgomerie can't seem to escape an incident that occurred at the Indonesian Open, where he failed to put his ball back in the same spot following an overnight storm. Although he was not penalized at the time, Montgomerie later reviewed tape and realized that perhaps, yes, he had improperly replaced his ball. He decided to give his prize money, about $45,000, to the European Tour's tsunami relief fund. But the incident won't die. Several in Europe have questioned Monty's otherwise unsullied reputation. The European Tour's players' committee issued a statement saying they were "dissatisfied" with his actions. And some have called for Montgomerie's prize money to be removed from the money list.

RULES ARE RULES: CBS-TV analyst Bobby Clampett knows how important it is to be on time. But the former PGA Tour player had no idea his poor timing could be so costly at a recent local qualifier for the U.S. Open. Clampett, 45, was warming up on the driving range at River Landing Country Club in Wallace, N.C., when he heard the starter say, "Now on the tee at 1:42." Clampett walked over to his playing partners, introduced himself, watched them hit their drives. After Clampett teed off, he was informed that he had been assessed a two-shot penalty for not being at the tee when the starter called his group. Clampett tried to appeal during the round, went on to shoot 65, which became 67 because of the penalty. Had he shot the 65, Clampett would have advanced to sectional qualifying. But 67 was good enough only for a playoff, which he lost. Clampett appealed to the USGA, but was denied.

QUOTABLE

"I felt like the guy who was pitching a no-hitter. Nobody wanted to talk to me. They wanted to stay as far away from me as they could. They would look at me and walk away. They didn't want to jinx me."

- Kenny Perry on taking a seven-stroke lead into the final round of the Colonial, which he won by seven strokes.

STAT OF THE WEEK

In the past four years, spanning 16 rounds, Perry is 50 under par at Colonial.

[Last modified May 26, 2005, 01:18:13]


Baseball

  • AL: Bruised O's still pack a punch
  • NL: Rookie starter keys Braves sweep
  • Police ripped over death at Bosox bash

  • Colleges
  • Six-run eighth aids Florida comeback

  • Golf
  • What, in the name of Wie? PR
  • Side issues sent Toms' game off course
  • The 19th hole

  • In brief
  • Congress' steroid bill gets tweak

  • Motorsports
  • Foyt IV no longer the new kid on block
  • Now serving: fresh perspective on life

  • NBA
  • Wade breaks loose to bag victory for Heat
  • Pistons' Brown dispels rumor

  • NFL
  • 'Love of the game' leads Rice to Denver

  • Outdoors
  • Daily fishing report

  • Parimutuels
  • Afleet Alex takes spin at Pimlico in Belmont warmup

  • Preps
  • All Pinellas boys tennis
  • Coach keeps St. Petersburg on right track
  • Dominant Green Devil keeps team atop county
  • Gaither survives bout of playoff deja vu
  • Graham grits out victory
  • No hits, one win suits Nova
  • Pinellas County names Hofer, Harris best

  • Soccer
  • Glazers mum on Man U

  • Super Bowl XLIII
  • Super Bowls in Tampa
  • Coming attractions

  • Tennis
  • Davenport 'lucky,' escapes 19-year-old
  • Rays
  • 10 in one
  • Lou disheartened by Hamilton's decline
  • Bucs
  • Area native is having grand time
  •  


    Back to Top

    © 2006 • All Rights Reserved • Tampa Bay Times
    490 First Avenue South • St. Petersburg, FL 33701 • 727-893-8111