St. Petersburg Times
Special report
Video report
  • For their own good
    Fifty years ago, they were screwed-up kids sent to the Florida School for Boys to be straightened out. But now they are screwed-up men, scarred by the whippings they endured. Read the story and see a video and portrait gallery.
  • More video reports
Multimedia report
Print Email this storyEmail story Comment Email editor
Fill out this form to email this article to a friend
Your name Your email
Friend's name Friend's email
Your message

38 college-bound teens remain in running for Barnes Scholarships

Published December 8, 2005

Thirty-eight high school seniors have been chosen as semifinalists for the 2006 Barnes Scholarships. A total of 278 students from public and private schools in Citrus, Hernando, Pasco, Hillsborough and Pinellas counties applied.

A Barnes Scholarship, sponsored by the St. Petersburg Times Fund Inc., is worth as much as $15,000 a year for four years at an accredited U.S. college or university. Each year, four winners are selected. This year, the fund will provide more than $230,000 in financial aid to college students through the Barnes Scholarships.

The scholarshipe were created in 1999 to help college-bound teens who had overcome significant obstacles in their lives while remaining committed to academic achievement and community involvement.

The 16 young men and 22 young women who are 2006 semifinalists now must complete the second portion of the application, answering essay questions and supplying financial information, a high school transcript and letters of recommendation from school counselors and other adults.

The information will be reviewed in January, and 10 finalists will be selected. They will be interviewed in St. Petersburg in February. Four winners will be announced in March.

The St. Petersburg Times Fund has provided aid for college students since 1953. The scholarships are named for Andrew Barnes, former chairman and chief executive officer of the Times, who established the awards to help young people in the Times' circulation area of west-central Florida.

Previous winners of the Barnes Scholarship are enrolled at Duke University, Tulane University, Princeton University, Georgetown University, Northwestern University, Washington University, the University of Florida, the University of South Florida, Eckerd College, American University, Franciscan University, the University of Rochester, Case Western Reserve University and Ohio State University. Nine of the winners have graduated from college.

For information about the Barnes Scholarship program, contact Nancy Waclawek, director of the St. Petersburg Times Fund Inc., at 727 893-8780. The Web address is

Here are the 2006 Barnes semifinalists and their high schools:

CITRUS COUNTY Ashley Sims, Lecanto High School.

Holly Van Sicklen, Crystal River High School.

HERNANDO COUNTY David Borrego, Springstead High School.

Irene Cho, Central High School.

Brittaney Kiefer, Hernando High School.

Aubree Quave, Hernando High School.

Abbey Surrena, Springstead High School.

Charleta Williams, Hernando High School.

HILLSBOROUGH COUNTY Yasir Abunamous, American Youth Academy.

Michelle Adejumo, Middleton High School.

Anthony Ciardiello, King High School.

Thaimi Fina, Hillsborough High School.

Brittany Fisher, Academy of the Holy Names.

Erin Hendricks, Armwood High School. Gregory Horn, H.B. Plant High School.

Antoine Jackson, Plant City High School.

Alberto Luperon, Blake High School.

Amanda Machado, H.B. Plant High School.

Dat Nguyen, East Bay High School.

Tatiana Ringenberg, Hillsborough High School.

James Tomaski, Bayshore Christian School.

Sanel Velic, Robinson High School.

PASCO COUNTY Apryl Fox, Ridgewood High School.

Eric Slotter, Ridgewood High School.

Ernesto Valdes, Gulf High School.

Jason Yuen, Hudson High School.

PINELLAS COUNTY Joshua Bonnain, Dixie Hollins High School.

Paige Crombie, Boca Ciega High School.

Bonnie Elmendorf, Northeast High School.

Chaz Fortner, Florida School for the Deaf and Blind.

Armela Jeshili, Largo High School.

Jhanavi Pathak, St. Petersburg High School.

Sheena Powell, St. Petersburg High School.

Jennifer Radcliff, Pinellas Park High School.

Ivana Sehovic, Clearwater High School.

Susie Sennhauser, St. Petersburg High School.

Simon Thiphonphan, Pinellas Park High School.

Tiffany Tseng, Palm Harbor University High School.

[Last modified December 8, 2005, 00:49:13]

Share your thoughts on this story

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Subscribe to the Times
Click here for daily delivery
of the St. Petersburg Times.

Email Newsletters