WHEN/WHERE: Thursday-Sunday; Augusta (Ga.) National Golf Club.

Published April 2, 2006

COURSE: 7,445 yards, par 72.

PURSE: Approximately $6.8-million. Last year, the winner received $1.26-million.

FIELD: 103 players have been invited, with 91 expected to participate. There are 16 first-time participants and five amateurs.

LAST YEAR: Tiger Woods made a 15-foot birdie putt on the first hole of a sudden-death playoff (the first time a Masters playoff began at the 18th hole) to defeat Chris DiMarco by one stroke. Woods shot a final-round 71 and DiMarco had 68. It was Woods' fourth Masters title and his ninth major championship.

THIS YEAR: Woods was the last to repeat, in 2001-02. He will also be going for his 11th major championship, tying him with Walter Hagen, seven behind Jack Nicklaus' 18.

TV: 4-7 p.m. Thursday-Friday, USA (replay 8-11 p.m.); 3:30-7 p.m. Saturday and 2:30-7 p.m. Sunday, Ch. 10.

REMEMBERING: Five years ago, Woods completed the "Tiger Slam" with his two-stroke victory over David Duval. It was his fourth consecutive major title, dating to the 2000 U.S. Open. ... 30 years ago Raymond Floyd tied Nicklaus' then-record 271 to win by eight strokes. ... 40 years ago Nicklaus became the first back-to-back champion, winning an 18-hole playoff over Tommy Jacobs and Gay Brewer. ... 45 years ago Gary Player became the first foreign-born winner of the Masters, by one over Arnold Palmer, who double-bogeyed the final hole. ... 50 years ago Jack Burke Jr. rallied from eight strokes back to defeat amateur Ken Venturi, who shot 80, by one stroke. ... 60 years ago Herman Kaiser was the surprise winner by one over Ben Hogan in the first post-war Masters.