St. Petersburg Times
Special report
Video report
  • For their own good
    Fifty years ago, they were screwed-up kids sent to the Florida School for Boys to be straightened out. But now they are screwed-up men, scarred by the whippings they endured. Read the story and see a video and portrait gallery.
  • More video reports
Multimedia report
Print Email this storyEmail story Comment Email editor
Fill out this form to email this article to a friend
Your name Your email
Friend's name Friend's email
Your message


Amateurs' payday not shabby

Published July 2, 2006

Rita Johnson of Jacksonville took home the jaw-dropping $10,000 cash prize for first place in the Amateur Bowlers Tour Summer Invitational, a gathering of the year's weekly tournament winners two weeks ago at Orange Bowl in Lakeland.

The tournament had both high and low handicaps in the top finishes, showcasing the ABT's ability to keep any weekend competitive.

Chuck Souser of Sarasota grabbed $1,000 in the handicap combo division and the $2,000 check for the scratch division winner with a 218 average over the weekend. Jeff Haven, Holiday, went home with a payload, a grand for his third-place finish in the handicapped division, average 206, ahead of Dunedin's Ken Sevitts, who averaged 218 and won $350 in fifth.

Last Sunday, Sevitts earned a bit more, finishing second at Countryside Lanes. He also won the prepaid high series with 650. Florida State University team bowler David Belcher took his 18-handicap to the top, winning $700. Clearwater's Vinny Crawford won $175 in third-place. Brandon Derry Holiday, Randy Thornton (Palm Harbor), Margaret Denk (Port Richey), Dee Crawford (Clearwater) and Sam Widener (Tampa) rounded out the remaining local cash positions.

Since its inception in November 2005, ABT Tampa-St. Pete branch has paid out more than $86,000. For more information on the tour, check it out online at

ESPYs: Chris Barnes, Norm Duke, Tommy Jones and Walter Ray Williams Jr. are nominees for the Bowler of the Year Excellence in Sports Performance Yearly to be awarded at the ESPYS presented by ESPN. Online voting allows fans to determine the ESPY winners in each category. Bowling fans can cast their votes through midnight July 8 at

NABI: Club 570 will be at Countryside Lanes today with squad times of 11 a.m. and 12:30 p.m. The jackpot is $215 with a strike-pot of $129. There is a senior cut combination for both squads as well as a auto cut for the first squad with six or more bowlers. Club 580 will be at AMF Semoran in Orlando starting at 11 am. Call (863) 667-4779 or check online at for more details.

CHATTER: Sunrise Sunsetter Ed Stevens had the best night of anyone last week, turning his 158 average into a 232-201-189 for 622. For top score, Jerry Krauss led all houses and all scores with a 299/792 at Seminole, where Dexter Martins was the youth bowler of the week with a 713. Dunedin Lanes talent Kathy Weaver churned out a 697 to lead all ladies. Seminole's Dottie Thompson (276/698) and Ten Pins' Robin Hintz (228/679) were also honorable.

Eric Muskatevc can be e-mailed at


Dunedin Lanes: Craig Gurney 300/792, Pat Klotchko 717, Paul Pippenger 713, Mike Bieluwka 677, Mitch Davis 675, Lisa Beck 630, Kathy Wolf 628, Evelyn Wallace 590. Thurs. Men's Trio (4-game): Rick Maxey 909, C.T. Maxey 979, Ralph Englert 936, Craig Gurney 989. Dunedin Doubles (4-game): Jim Sowers 984, Sean Hodges 933, Lou Laessi 950, Melissa Alessi 826. Wed. Hdcp. Doubles (4-game): Ron Maniscalco 984, Chris Holly 976, Tom Mickelson 927.

Sunrise Lanes: Inter Civic: Lou Traci 670, Bob Willard 703. Strike n Spare: Justin Veitch 703. Commercial: Justin Veitch 257/705, Drew Beierlein 254/664, Rusty Genevie 277, Greg Ickes 267/737, Derek Dzierba 656, Mike O'Neil 264/734, Matt Blankenship 686, Ian Atamian 656. Sunsetters: David Jones 684, Derek Perez 257, Tommy Turner 671. Thurs. Scratch Doubles: Keith Glasgow 264-268/906, Terasa Genevie 854, Ray Buchan 858, Jason Scanga 265-300/1050, Amanda Bowles 256/875, Ben Johnston 856, Kari Militello 811, Paul Doyon 776, Debi Kidd 776, Chuck Brush 907. TGIF: Gary Hampshire 257. Sunday Follies: David Gabory 279/655.

Twedt's Lanes: Men: Joe Alore 700, Gysin Bardo 696, Loy Pryor 695, Ron Sullivan 683, Eric Trembar 683, Chris Springstead 673, Nick Gates 666, Jeff Williams 657, Danny Bolton 646, Dave Lawson 645, Tod Janssen 642, Mark Misura 630, Chris Sellec 629. Women: Dianne Lehrer 630, Michelle Huff 604, Michelle Signarovitz 587, Dee Watkins 571, Lanie Weaver 550, Gloria Alore 547, Kay McAleer 547, Robyn Vogel 531, Gerda Miller 521. USBC Youth: Matt Hawley 642, Jake Thoma 612, Mike Schiever 603.

Ten Pin Lanes: Men: Sean Herrod 297/659, Mike Dispensa 287/658, Paul Doyon 266/707, Joe Dalton 259/740, Pete Sahner 257/651, Smokey Clark 705, Tony Agostine 675, Charlie Ludwig 671, Don Vachon 664, Chad Lejeune 659, John Burling 652. Women: Gillian Dean 226/608, Kari Militello 218/605, Margaret Grover 203/526, Sandi Lubisco 517, Carey Blackwelder 506, Nancy Jiminez 503. Sr. Men: Tom McKenzie 214/542, Dave O'Brien 212/573, Jack McMeekin 204/508. USBC Youth: David Segler 268/688, Randall Klafter 235/622, Chris Ellis 225/627.

Seminole Lanes: John Hahmann 256/710, Eda Creech O'Brian 225/648, Steve Slater 606, David Broughton 613, Jessica Rottloff 224/605, Pat Grippe 225/555, Mike Gula 704, Mike Dillon 747. Seminole Sport: Tom Johnson 635, Charlie Ludwig 652, Joe Minarik 645. Youth: Dwayne Martins Jr. 645.

[Last modified July 1, 2006, 11:55:00]

Share your thoughts on this story

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Subscribe to the Times
Click here for daily delivery
of the St. Petersburg Times.

Email Newsletters