The property and casualty insurance reform committee

A list of the members and their ties to the insurance industry.

Published September 17, 2006

Lt. Gov. Toni Jennings (chairwoman): Former state Senate president, former president of Jack Jen­nings & Sons Construction Services, Orlando. Republican.

Leslie Chapman-Henderson: CEO of Federal Alliance for Safe Homes, a disaster safety organization with partners including State Farm and St. Paul Travelers. Tallahassee. Republican.

Sen. J.D. Alexander (R-Lake Wales): At least $95,790 in campaign donations from the insurance industry for 2004 and 2006.

Lee Arnold, Clearwater developer, CEO of the Arnold Cos. Republican.

Rep. Don Brown (R-DeFuniak Springs):  At least $47,000 in campaign donations from insurance industry for 2004 and 2006.

J.D. Collins, Jack­son­ville developer, CEO of Collins Group Inc. Former president of Florida Home Builders Association. Republican.

Manuel de Zarraga, Coral Gables real estate investment banker. Republican.

Robert Helms, Florida CEO of Wachovia Bank. Jacksonville. Republican.

Frank Kowalski, president, Koski & Co. insurance agency, Miami. Republican.

A.D. “Sandy” MacKinnon, CEO of Yale In­dus­trial Trucks, Tampa. Republican.

Bill Montford, Florida Association of District School Superintendents CEO. Tallahassee.

Rep. Dennis Ross (R-Lake­land): House Insurance Committee chair. Lawyer specializing in insurance litigation.

Larry Schultz, Rock­ledge mayor. Florida Municipal Insurance Trust chairman. Republican.

Linda Loomis Shelley, Tallahassee lawyer specializing in land-use law. Democrat.

Barbara Weese, Lees­burg, retired teacher. AARP advocate. Democrat.