St. Petersburg Times
Special report
Video report
  • For their own good
    Fifty years ago, they were screwed-up kids sent to the Florida School for Boys to be straightened out. But now they are screwed-up men, scarred by the whippings they endured. Read the story and see a video and portrait gallery.
  • More video reports
Multimedia report
Print Email this storyEmail story Comment Email editor
Fill out this form to email this article to a friend
Your name Your email
Friend's name Friend's email
Your message

Officers installed at two area Kiwanis Clubs

Published October 1, 2006

Two local Kiwanis Clubs recently held their annual banquets and installation of officers.

- Kiwanis Club of Palm Harbor pledged to continue another year of service to the community at their 29th installation of officers and induction of new members last week.

Nadine Nickeson, division 12 lieutenant governor, installed the following new officers:

John Papuga, president; Jack Keiler, vice president; Carl Heifetz, secretary; Mike Landi, treasurer; Marty Bretthauer, financial secretary; Chuck Winscott, immediate past-president; and John Burnham, Nick Ottaviano, Murray Smith, John Kiker, Alicia Phidd and Darry Schroader, board members.

Three new members, Royal Eckstein, Nick Johnson and Matt Fishel, were inducted into the club by Nickeson and Murray Smith, charter president and past lieutenant governor.

- At the 50th annual charter night program held last week in Safety Harbor, John Hussar was installed president of the Kiwanis Club of Springtime City.

Other officers installed by Nickeson include Jeff Cesta, president-elect; Kathleen George, vice president; Kay Skelton, treasurer; and Diane Urwiller, secretary.

The following were installed as board directors: David Browder, Al Fears, Frank LaMagna, Doug Williams, Christy Flees, Jan Gordon and Keith Philipson.

Dr. Don Auerbach, Bob Baker and Cal Wyatt were retired and recognized for serving on the club's board of directors for the past two years.

Immediate past president Wilber Van Scoik will continue to serve on the club board for the next year.

Jim Ewbank received the President's Award for outstanding support throughout the year and was honored for his work as club secretary.

Tom Hanley was honored for his dedication and leadership as club treasurer for the past 16 years.

Margaret Rutkowski was named Kiwanian of the Year for her leadership with Headstart and many other children's projects.

Joe Turner, the club's only remaining charter member, received the Legion of Honor Award for 50 years and a new charter pin to complement his original pin.

Kiwanis International has 17 clubs in Pinellas Country, and more than 300,000 members in 94 nations. Last year, Kiwanis clubs donated more than $100-million and almost 6-million volunteer hours for community service projects.

The Springtime City Club's Web site is

Team is 2nd in state meet

Clearwater Masonic Lodge 127 came in second place at the state degree competition held recently in Winter Park, which was held before the start of the State Grand Communication Convention in Orlando.

To qualify for the state competition, the lodge took first place in the regional degree team competition.

The degree team consisted of the following members: Sam Lampson, worshipful master; Arthur Barker, senior warden; Russell LeMar, junior warden; Zeke Lever, senior deacon; Joseph Gondos, junior deacon; James Eubank, senior steward; David Griffin, junior steward; Edward Ballantyne, tyler; David Soderland, assistant tyler; Scott McCauley, candidate; and Edward Phero, competition instructor.

This was the first time the lodge's degree team competed in the state competition.

For information on the lodge, call 727 447-5161 or e-mail

Civitans receive award

Ed Baum of Athens, Ohio, Civitan International president, and Mattie Frasier of Jacksonville, district governor, presented two international awards to Clearwater Civitan Club recently at the Florida District Civitan Convention in Ocala.

The awards for programs conducted during 2004-05 were for Outstanding Total Community Service and Outstanding Service to People with Disabilities. Clearwater club's past president Frank Kelley accepted the awards, which were earned during his term of office.

The club was also recognized for this year's Outstanding Project - Service to Youth, which included a health fair for kids coordinated by the club in cooperation with Community of Service Organizations Upper Pinellas.

Clearwater Civitan is open to new members 18 or older who have an interest in helping the community. The club meets at 6:30 p.m. the first and third Tuesdays of the month in the Community Room of the Homeless Emergency Project, 1260 Engman St., Clearwater.

For information call 727-584-0461 or 727-792-3861.

Lodge honors members

Two members received awards for service to the fraternity and raised two new members at recent meetings of Dunedin Lodge 192 F&AM.

Robert Tharin, a longtime Dunedin resident, was presented a 60-year award. William Young of Clearwater received a 25-year award for his service as a member of Plumcreek Monroeville Lodge 799 in Pittsburgh.

The awards were presented by Ken Giesow, club master.

At another meeting, the lodge raised new members John Di Sanza and Jeffrey Hunter to the degree of master mason.

The degree team for the evening included Ken Giesow,Chris Schlenker, B.J. Sammon, Dave Seidel, Jim Tuller, Jay Haire, Bob Matheson, John Lawless, Paul Ergler, Forrest McQuiston, Romeo Scerbo, Bill McIntosh, Warren Bundy, and Tim Bryce.

The lodge also made Bill Petrey of Trinity an honorary member in appreciation of his service as district instructor.

The lodge Web site is http//

To submit an item, mail to Club News, Betsy Bolger-Paulet, 710 Court St., Clearwater, FL 33756, fax to 727-445-4119 or e-mail to

[Last modified September 30, 2006, 22:04:00]

Share your thoughts on this story

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Subscribe to the Times
Click here for daily delivery
of the St. Petersburg Times.

Email Newsletters