For the first time in four years, Bliss

Published October 29, 2006

HAMPTON, Ga. - Mike Bliss grabbed the lead on a restart 10 laps from the end Saturday at Atlanta Motor Speedway and held off Terry Cook for his first NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series victory in four years.

Bliss caught the lead pack and moved up to second behind rookie Erik Darnell before a fire in rookie Arik Almirola's truck brought out the last of seven caution flags with 15 laps to go in the EasyCare Vehicle Services Contract 200.

The winner's Chevrolet Silverado quickly moved into the lead on the restart and began to pull away. But Cook, in a Ford F-150, also drove past Darnell to take second on lap 124 and quickly began to close in on Bliss.

He was just over a truck-length behind the leader at the start of the final lap, but that was as close as Cook could come.

Busch: Kevin Harvick, already the series champion, raced to his eighth series win of the year, outdueling Carl Edwards in the final two laps in the caution-filled Sam's Town 250 at Memphis Motorsports Park in Millington, Tenn.

IROC: Martin Truex and Ryan Newman put on a show in the waning laps of the Crown Royal International Race of Champions season-finale in Hampton, Ga., swapping the lead over and over before Truex gained control on the last lap. Tony Stewart finished third and won his first IROC title and the $1-million payoff from the series sponsor.

NHRA: Doug Kalitta claimed his third Budweiser Shootout in the ACDelco Las Vegas NHRA Nationals. Tony Schumacher, Robert Hight, Jason Line, and Shawn Gann earned top qualifier honors in their categories.