2006 Bank of America Neighborhood Excellence Initiative Awards

Published November 16, 2006

Recipients of the 2006 Bank of America Neighborhood Excellence Initiative Awards:

Neighborhood Builders Awards ($200,000 each)

Hillsborough: Boys & Girls Club of Tampa Bay; University Area Community Development Corporation

Pinellas: American Stage Company; Pinellas Habitat For Humanity.

Local Heroes Awards ($5,000 each)

Hillsborough: Intercultural Hispanic American workshop founder Maria Esther Carrillo ; Tampa Bay Academy of Hope executive director James M. Evans; Morning Star Schools promoter Jeanette Friedheim ; activist and arts supporter Andrea Graham; Catholic Medical Mobile Services founder Sister Sara Proctor.

Pinellas: Creative Cultural Arts Center founder Grace Anne Alfiero ; trial attorney Diane Bailey; volunteer Norm Bungard ; Life Force Cultural Arts Academy founder Jai  Hinson; Mainsail Arts Festival co-founder Patricia Mason.

Student Leaders (eight-week paid internships)

Hillsborough: Leena Hasbini , Newsome High; Jerry Kent, Bloomingdale High; Caitlyn Oser , Bloomingdale High; Jorge Rivera, Riverview High; Willie Wright III, Tampa Bay Tech.

Pinellas: Maya  Daniels, Gibbs High; Brian Hetherton, St. Petersburg Collegiate High; John Kelder, Seminole High; Daren  Miller, St. Petersburg High; Christine Ochsner, Clearwater Central Catholic High.