Speaker names council heads

By Associated press
Published November 23, 2006

House Speaker Marco Rubio named the chairmen of several councils that will oversee committees during the legislative session. Serving in one of the most powerful posts will be Rep. Ray Sansom, R-Destin, who will head up the Policy & Budget Council, which oversees the budget-writing committees. Others named:- Don Brown, R-DeFuniak Springs, Jobs and Entrepreneurship.

- Aaron Bean, R-Fernandina Beach, Healthcare.

- Holly Benson, R-Pensa-cola, Safety and Security.

- Joe Pickens, R-Palatka, Education.

- Dean Cannon, R-Winter Park, Economic Expansion and Infrastructure.

- Andy Gardiner, R-Orlan-do, Government Efficiency and Accountability.

- Stan Mayfield, R-Vero Beach, Environmental and Natural Resources.

- David Rivera, R-Miami, Rules and Calendar.