Ask the Times

Published February 1, 2007

Which counties make up Tampa Bay? I used to think there were 4: Pinellas, Hillsborough, Pasco and Hernando. Later I was led to add Citrus. Recently I heard Judy Genshaft mention Tampa Bay on TV - "all 7 counties"! Please explain. Duncan Smith, Seminole

It depends on the context since there is no official area called Tampa Bay. Most people refer to the four counties you mentioned. Some add Citrus, Manatee and/or Polk, which in this instance would make up the seven you heard Genshaft mention, probably in connection with transportation.

Compiled from Times staff and wires. To submit a question, e-mail answers@tampabay.com or call 727 893-8179, toll-free 1-800-333-7505, ext. 8179.