54 years of ACC tournament thrills

With the event coming to Florida for the first time, we take a look at the ACC tournament by the numbers 1-54:

Published February 25, 2007

TAMPA - When the newly formed ACC decided it would stage a postseason tournament to determine its champion and its NCAA Tournament participant, most basketball coaches elsewhere scoffed. And those were the polite ones. But since 1954, the ACC tournament has showcased the league's shooting stars and iconic coaches sharing their shining moments and unforgettable disappointments before packed houses. It has shaped college basketball, from Tobacco Road to New York to Bloomington, Ind., to Lexington, Ky., to Lawrence, Kan., to Westwood, Calif. Now, 54 years later, virtually all leagues have a postseason tournament, and the ACC provides the gold standard. With the event coming to Florida (March 8-11 at St. Pete Times Forum) for the first time, we take a look at the ACC tournament by the numbers 1-54:

1 Turnover in the 1968 semifinal between North Carolina State and Duke, the fewest in a game.

2 MVP awards won by Duke's J.J. Redick (2005, 2006).

3 Overtime games in 1954, including the championship: North Carolina State 82, Wake Forest 80.

4 First-year coaches who have won: Duke's Vic Bubas (1960), North Carolina State's Press Maravich (1965), North Carolina State's Herb Sendek (1997) and North Carolina's Bill Guthridge (1998).

5 Wins by Florida State (5-15). The Seminoles have not won more than one game in any ACC tournament, even in their first two (1992 and 1993), when they finished second in the regular season.

6 Cities that have hosted the previous 53 tournaments (Raleigh, Greensboro, Charlotte, Landover, Md., Atlanta, Washington).

7 Inches of snow that fell in Raleigh on March 2, 1960, the day before the tournament, prompting a local TV station to air all four games Thursday. A first. No snow is expected March 7 in Tampa.

8 Overtime wins by North Carolina. The most recent came in the 1994 semifinals against Wake Forest 86-84. The Tar Heels went on to beat Virginia in the finale.

9 Dollars, the most expensive session ticket in the first tournament. A total of 39,200 fans were in Reynolds Coliseum at North Carolina State, and it generated $70,252 in revenue.

10 Titles for Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski, including the past two and seven of the past eight. He won his first in 1986, his sixth season in Durham.

11 Consecutive losses, a record held by Clemson (1964-74) and Virginia (1959-69).

12 Points for North Carolina State against Duke in a 1968 semifinal. The Wolfpack rallied from a 4-2 halftime deficit to pull out the 12-10 win. It was routed in the finale by North Carolina 87-50.

13 Titles by North Carolina's Dean Smith, his last in what turned out to be his final season, 1997.

14 Blocks by Tim Duncan (Wake Forest) in 1995. He had five against Duke, six against Virginia and three in the win against North Carolina for the title and the record.

15 Free throws attempted in a finale by Len Chappell (Wake Forest) against Clemson in 1962. He made 11, tied for a finale record.

16 Field goals in a semifinal by David Thompson (North Carolina State) against Virginia in 1974. He finished with 37 points.

17 Consecutive wins for Duke (1999-04). The streak ended with a 95-87 overtime loss to Maryland in the 2004 finale.

18 Field goals in a final by Tommy Burleson (North Carolina State) against Maryland in 1974. He finished with 38 points.

19 Field goals by Len Rosenbluth (North Carolina) against Clemson in 1957, the year the Tar Heels won the ACC tournament and the NCAA Tournament for the first time.

20 Points by North Carolina in a loss to Duke (21) in 1966, a game that introduced the world to the "four corners" offense of Tar Heels coach Dean Smith.

21 Times Greensboro has hosted. It hosts again in 2010.

22 Rebounds in a championship game by Tim Duncan (Wake Forest) against Georgia Tech in 1996.

23 Rebounds in a game by John Richter (North Carolina State) against South Carolina in 1959. The Wolfpack needed every one to eke out a 75-72 overtime win in the opening round en route to the title.

24 Jersey number of Wake Forest's Dickie Hemric, the first MVP with 70 points and the league's career-scoring leader until Duke's J.J. Redick passed him last season.

25 Jersey number of Georgia Tech's Mark Price, the 1985 MVP. He scored 50 to lead the Yellow Jackets to their first title.

26 Offensive rebounds in a game by Virginia against Wake Forest in the 1995 semifinals. The Cavaliers lost 77-68.

27 Points in the 1996 final by Tim Duncan (Wake Forest) in a 75-74 win against Georgia Tech.

28 Field-goal percentage (actually 27.9) by South Carolina in the 1971 championship against North Carolina, the lowest for a winner. South Carolina, fresh off its first ACC title, left the league a few months later.

29 Assists by Ed Cota (North Carolina) in 1999.

30 Jersey number of Maryland's Billy Jones, the first African-American to play varsity basketball in the ACC. He had three points in an opening-round loss to North Carolina in 1966. He's one of the Legends to be honored in Tampa.

31 Combined titles by Duke (16) and North Carolina (15).

32 Jersey number of Duke's Christian Laettner, the 1992 MVP and one of the Legends to be honored in Tampa.

33 Overtime games. FSU is the only team that's perfect (2-0) in OT.

34 3-pointers attempted by Wake Forest against North Carolina in the 1995 finale. The Demon Deacons made 15, nine by MVP Randolph Childress.

35 Points for North Carolina freshman Michael Jordan in his first tournament in 1982. The Tar Heels won it for the lone time with Jordan.

36 Points totaled by FSU guards Sam Cassell, Charlie Ward and Bob Sura (a Legend to be honored in Tampa) in the school's debut, a 93-80 win against North Carolina State in 1992.

37 Largest margin of victory in the finale: North Carolina 87, North Carolina State 50 in 1968.

38 Points in a semifinal game by Len Chappell (Wake Forest) against South Carolina in 1962 and Albert King (Maryland) against Clemson in 1980.

39 Times North Carolina has won at least one game, one better than Duke.

40 Minutes played by the five starters for Duke and South Carolina in a 1969 semifinal. The Blue Devils won 68-59 but lost to a deeper North Carolina team in the finale.

41 Officials who have worked the championship game. Len Wirtz leads with 13.

42 Wins by Duke's Mike Krzyzewski.

43 Free throws attempted by Grady Wallace (South Carolina) in 1957. He was 15-for-17 against Duke, 11-for-15 against Maryland and 6-for-11 in a loss to North Carolina.

44 Jersey number of David Thompson, the lone retired by North Carolina State.

45 Points by North Carolina's Len Rosenbluth against Clemson in 1957.

46 Times the winner will have officially been declared ACC champion March 11. That had been the unofficial custom from 1954-61.

47 Field goals made in a game by Maryland against North Carolina State in 1974 final.

48 Edition (2001 at Atlanta's Georgia Dome) that established an attendance record of 182,525 for all sessions combined, an average of 36,505.

49 Losses by Maryland and Wake Forest each. Each has the same number of wins (41).

50 Jersey number of Virginia's Ralph Sampson, the three-time national player of the year.

51 Points by Boston College's Jared Dudley, Sean Marshall and Tyrese Rice in their first game, an 80-66 win against Maryland.

52 Jersey number of North Carolina's James Worthy, 1982 MVP and the MVP of the Final Four.

53 Losses by Clemson.

54 Edition that begins March 8 at the St. Pete Times Forum.