St. Petersburg Times
Special report
Video report
  • For their own good
    Fifty years ago, they were screwed-up kids sent to the Florida School for Boys to be straightened out. But now they are screwed-up men, scarred by the whippings they endured. Read the story and see a video and portrait gallery.
  • More video reports
Multimedia report
Print Email this storyEmail story Comment Email editor
Fill out this form to email this article to a friend
Your name Your email
Friend's name Friend's email
Your message

Times journalists win awards

By Mike Wilson
Published March 9, 2007


St. Petersburg Times reporters and photographers have won top honors in two national journalism award competitions.

In the Scripps Howard Foundation National Journalism Awards, Wes Allison won the Raymond Clapper Award for Washington reporting for "A Republican Vs. Republican Cellular Division," a two-part series about the stem cell controversy in Congress. The award is given "to work that contributes to public enlightenment and a sound democracy," according to the foundation, based in Cincinnati.

Allison, 38, has written for the Times since 1999 and has reported from Washington since 2004.

Also in the Scripps Howard competition, feature writer Lane DeGregory won the Ernie Pyle Award for human interest writing. Her entry included "Good Intentions," about a family who took in a troubled a teenage girl and her baby, and "I am pretty sure that I know u," about a girl who found her long-lost brother on MySpace.

DeGregory, 40, joined the Times in 2000. This is the third time in four years that a Times reporter has won the Pyle Award, named for the legendary World War II correspondent.

Photographer John Pendygraft, 36, was a finalist in the Scripps Howard photography portfolio category. His entry included images of children in Gaza and of Army Gen. John Abizaid, then the leader of U.S. Central Command.

In the National Headliner Awards, DeGregory won second place in feature writing. This is the third consecutive year she has placed second in the category.

Pendygraft placed third for his photography portfolio. He won the competition last year.

The National Headliner Awards were founded in 1934 by the Press Club of Atlantic City.

[Last modified March 9, 2007, 06:08:52]

Share your thoughts on this story

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Subscribe to the Times
Click here for daily delivery
of the St. Petersburg Times.

Email Newsletters