St. Petersburg Times
Special report
Video report
  • For their own good
    Fifty years ago, they were screwed-up kids sent to the Florida School for Boys to be straightened out. But now they are screwed-up men, scarred by the whippings they endured. Read the story and see a video and portrait gallery.
  • More video reports
Multimedia report
Print Email this storyEmail story Comment Email editor
Fill out this form to email this article to a friend
Your name Your email
Friend's name Friend's email
Your message


Junior Journalism picks made

Published March 22, 2007


The Junior Journalism program is a partnership between the Citrus Times and the Citrus County School District to encourage writing. Students were supplied with prompts and asked to write essays. Stories are selected at the school level and sent to the district office. There, two stories are selected at each grade level and published in the Citrus Times.

These are the students:

Third grade: Citrus Springs Elementary School: Michael Arnitz and Amanda Grassman. Forest Ridge Elementary School: Sierra Lemos and Victoria Cortes. Inverness Primary School: Sierra Budd and Gina Fernandez. Pleasant Grove Elementary School: Austin Bogart and Annalise Bunting.

Fourth grade: Citrus Springs Elementary School: Amanda Myers and Kayla Micali. Forest Ridge Elementary School: Christian Javier and Morgan Brown. Homosassa Elementary School: Hailey Gibbons and Bailey Miller. Hernando Elementary School: Christian Miranda-Boulay and Nikolas Cabrera. Inverness Primary School: Kaitlin Daly. Pleasant Grove Elementary School: Christian Thaureaux and Fiona Mand.

Rock Crusher Elementary School: Kiersten Croyle and Kyle Kidd.

Fifth grade: Citrus Springs Elementary School: Jordyn Thibault and Jessa Artez.

Forest Ridge Elementary School: Andrea Dominque and Samantha Wheeler. Inverness Primary School: Blake O'Neal and Michael Seaman. Pleasant Grove Elementary School: Jessica Murphy and Cierra Maniscalco. Lecanto Primary School: Becky Bagley and Amber Maynard. Rock Crusher Elementary School: Kayla Murray and Bekah Hoffman.

Sixth grade: Citrus Springs Middle School: Lily Parrish and Jennifer Hafner. Inverness Middle School: Andrew Judd and Christian Hemenway. Crystal River Middle: Hunter Earnheart and Allyssa Bradford.

Seventh grade: Citrus Springs Middle School: Kimberly Hafner and Alexandra Blaha. Inverness Middle School: Jessica Decker and Zach Guifford.

Eighth grade: Citrus Springs Middle School: Rachel Roth and Alexandra Giovagnoni. Inverness Middle School: Marshall Ryan and Ryan Watson.

[Last modified March 22, 2007, 06:35:07]

Share your thoughts on this story

[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Subscribe to the Times
Click here for daily delivery
of the St. Petersburg Times.

Email Newsletters