Tour Catholic school during open house

Published April 25, 2007

St. John Vianney Catholic School, 500 84th Ave., St. Pete Beach, will have an open house for prospective new students from 1 to 3 p.m. today.

Parents and students will be able to tour classrooms and faculty and administrators will be on hand to answer questions.

Information will be available on the school's sports programs, physical education classes, advanced math and science programs.

The school was established in 1953 and serves prekindergarten through eighth grade. For information, call 363-1113, ext. 0, or send an e-mail to nsebok@sjv1.org.

Get information about Early College Program

Information sessions for the new Early College Program at St. Petersburg College Clearwater campus, a partnership between the Pinellas County School District and SPC, will be from 7 to 9 p.m. Thursday and Friday at SPC Clearwater campus, Arts Auditorium, 2465 Drew St.

The program will be open to high school juniors and seniors in the fall of the 2007-08 school year. Call 791-5970.

Don't forget documents for kindergarten signup

Parents of children who will begin kindergarten during the 2007-08 school year can register at their child's assigned school through May 4.

Parents should bring with them the child's birth certificate, proof of residency, certificate of immunization, a report from a physical exam that is no more than a year old and the letter from student assignment with the child's school listed.

Those who applied for a school during the attendance area application period last month should have received notification of their child's assignment by letter last week.

Parents who did not apply prior to March 24 must call or visit a Family Education and Information Center to get a school assignment.

The FEIC locations are: 1101 Marshall St., Clearwater, 727 298-2858; and 3420 Eighth Ave. S, St. Petersburg, (727) 552-1595.

Derby Lane Scholarship recipients honored

The Pinellas Education Foundation honored 65 Pinellas County high school students as this year's Derby Lane Scholarship recipients at a luncheon Friday at the Hilton Carillon Hotel in St. Petersburg.

Derby Lane Scholarships are sponsored by the St. Petersburg Kennel Club. Scholars are selected based on their personal and academic achievements, leadership and service to school and community. Recipients are selected from each of the public high schools and receive scholarships to be used at a community college or university within Florida.

In addition, Kiara Lovett from Lakewood High School and Christina Lawrence from St. Petersburg Collegiate High School will receive four-year renewable scholarships. The following students are this year's Derby Lane Scholarship recipients:

Boca Ciega High School: Sara Dimitrijevic, Kyle Gordon, Janice McShane and Reathea Mull.

Clearwater High School: Janele Adams, David Thurston and Brittany Varner.

Countryside High School: Amber Christian, Michael Gryn and Forrest Kattner.

Dixie Hollins High School: Megan Englert, James Pham, Benjamin Beelman and Hue Nguyen.

Dunedin High School: Ashley Jones, Xiandria Whiting and Lindsey Owen.

East Lake High School: Sarah Lynch, Valerie Bagenski, Shannon Kalahar and Ashlyn Wedde.

Gibbs High School: Marlee Malone, Sean Seppala, Veljko Zekanovic and Brittany Anthony.

Lakewood High School: Yvonne Lyking, James Hartney, Corey Henderson, Kiara Lovett and Milena Ucukalo.

Largo High School: Kayla Steiner, Rasheka Riley and Bao Tung Tran.

Northeast High School: Tonya Diehl, Ryan Grosjean, James Hilliard and Metodi Natov.

Osceola High School: Annabell Quesada, Lyudmila Haralampieva, Ingrid Morales and Zahara Dimassi.

Palm Harbor University High School: Jerrold Farissier, Brandy Moseley, Ka Wing Chan and Walker Klenk.

Pinellas Park High School: Amy Chantarak, Chance Cline, Michael Solone and Matthew Walker.

Seminole High School: Andrew Wright, Katelyn Cobelens and Gregory Humm.

St. Petersburg Collegiate High School: Kendrick Davis, Rodrica Dixon, Christina Lawrence, Tiarra Ramsey and Shelynn Weston.

St. Petersburg High School: Kristina Woods, Amanda Abu-Nab, Shannon McCune, Elizabeth Stovall and Josue Torres.

Tarpon Springs High School: Jackie Dombrowski, Madelyn Screnock and Angela Zervas.