Fast facts

Information on NCAA and scholastic championships.

By Times Staff
Published May 23, 2007

2007 NCAA Division I Women's Rowing Championships

When: Friday-Sunday

Where: Melton Hill Lake in Oak Ridge, Tenn.

Who: Brown, California, Harvard, Minnesota, Notre Dame, Ohio State, Princeton, Southern California, Tennessee (host), Virginia, Washington, Yale; At-large bids: Dartmouth, Stanford, UCF, UCLA.

Did you know?: California is the back-to-back defending champs. The championships have 12 teams, and each team is required to field two boats of eight rowers and one boat of four rowers. Also, four eight-women boats from institutions not represented in the team competition were selected.

73rd Annual Scholastic National Championship Regatta

Where: Cooper River Park, Cherry Hill, N.J.

When: Friday and Saturday

Did you know?: The Scholastic Rowing Association of America (SRAA) was founded by W.E. Garrett Gilmore in 1935 and was originally known as the Schoolboy Rowing Association of America. It changed its name after women began competing in the regatta in 1974.