Light winds don't stop Carlisle Classic Regatta

By DAVE ELLIS, Times Correspondent
Published November 28, 2007

Dan and Nadine Carlisle have long supported the Clearwater Community Sailing Center, serving as hosts for the annual Carlisle Classic Regatta.

Nearly $6,000 was raised for sailing programs this year.

The weekend of Nov. 17-18 produced warm weather with very light winds. Racing on the bay under the guidance of race officer Dave Billing, sailors waited for wind on Saturday morning, but eventually seven races were held for most classes.

The gulf course ran five longer races for the multihull fleet. David and Kathy Ingram were the overall fleet winners in their F-18. Karl Langefeld with crew Ben Keener was second, and Dennis Bedgood with John Fondrk third, both in inter-20s.

Pete Pollard was the top F16, while Bob Barton won the portsmouth handicap fleet on his N450.

Clearwater Sailing Center is known for its access dinghy fleet, enabling those with mental challenges to sail. Some of the competitors had help to sail, while others handled all of the tasks by themselves.

Sailing alone were Pete Mondorf, Aaron Medlin and Jim Fitzgibbons. Sailing with crew were Timmy DeLucia with Tommy Timberlake, Michele DeLucia with Claudia Nable, Sandy Holden, Douglas Evenue, Vinny Losi, Anthony Hagenbeber, Matt Pacletti, Chuck Carlton,Christina Green, Chris Edelman and Amanda Johnson.

The optimist dinghy has its roots in Clearwater, the original having been designed by the late Clearwater sailor Clark Mills. This fleet saw Benjamin Getchell and Luke Yates from Lake Eustis taking the top two places. Amy Gamache and Allyson Plessner, both new green fleet racers at Clearwater, took third and fourth.

Steve Honour won all the races in the sunfish fleet of 10 boats, while Dedi and Beau Plessner nearly ran the table in the daysailor class. The club 420 fleet was led by Michele and Kathryn Kostomo. Bob Johnson of Island Packet stepped into a big fish that they produce and won both races.

Dan Fontaine and crew Wayne Henderson supported the event by sailing in the open fleet in their windmill, another Mills design.

SAN FRANSICO MASTERS: John Jennings of St. Petersburg Yacht Club has won the annual Masters regatta for accomplished sailors of vintage. The regatta was held in J/105's at St. Francis Yacht Club.

SNIPE STATE CHAMPIONSHIP: World champ Augie Diaz of Miami won the light air States hosted by St. Petersburg Yacht Club. Kris and Antoinette Klotz placed second.

EGMONT KEY RACE: One of the few remaining longer distance races locally is the course from Davis Island Yacht Club, around Egmont Key and return. The fleet had the usual parking lot in the early afternoon near the Skyway until the sea breeze filled in.

A few yachts missed a navigation mark that was required to be passed on one side; Prime Plus returned to correct the error, costing valuable race time.

Among the 23 boats, Renegade sailed by Jamie Myers led the spinnaker A fleet; Grant Dumas on Lacerta won spinnaker B; Allen Saunders on Cat's Meow won the racer-cruiser division.

THANKSGIVING DAY REGATTA: Another kind of regatta that has faded is an all-class event. Davis Island still runs this popular race with three race courses for many kinds of boats.

In light air, the optimist dinghy overall and red fleet winner was Connor Brady; Samantha Purton won the blue fleet; Andy Widmeier won the white fleet, and Benjamin Boulch won the green fleet.

Sam Blouin led the laser radial fleet, with Ian Heausler just one point behind among 21 boats. Cam Hall won the 4.7 fleet and will soon head for that class' Worlds in South Africa. Jay Leibl was the leader in the laser full rig, while Joe Blouin led the sunfish.

Other leaders were Jeff Linton in lightnings; Jim Egan in flying scott; Ethan and Trudy Bixby in windmills; Zeke Horowitz in the C420, and Allison Jolly in the portsmouth handicap class sailing a 470.