Gasparilla info

By Joey Knight, Times Staff Writer
Published February 9, 2008


Where: downtown Tampa

Starting times: 15K wheelchair - 7:25 a.m.; 15K - 7:30; 5K - 9:30; 5K Walk & Stroller Roll - 9:50

Starting lines: Little Bayshore (adjacent to Publix)

Purse: The 15K wheelchair, underwritten by the Challenged Athletes Foundation, features a purse of more than $10,000. The 15K also includes $10,000 in purse money, but only full-time residents of Hillsborough, Pinellas, Pasco, Sarasota, Manatee, Polk and Hernando counties are eligible to win it.

Defending 15K champions: Men - Todd Snyder, Utica, Mich. (45:58); Women - Christa Benton, St. Petersburg (54:27)

Defending 5K champions: Men - Scott Mackley, Lakeland (14:57); Women - Amy Paine, Tallahassee (17:30)


Where: downtown Tampa

Starting times: marathon and half-marathon - 6 a.m.

Starting lines: Platt and Parker streets

Purse (marathon only): The Florida Prize Purse, new in 2008, will total $12,000 ($1,500 each for the male and female winner). A bonus prize of $1,500 goes to each Florida male finishing in 2:30 or under and each Florida female finishing in 2:55 or under (limited to first three males and females). Only U.S. citizens with primary residence in the state of Florida who are eligible to compete in and represent the United States in USA International competition, Olympic Games, etc., are eligible.

Defending half-marathon champions: Men - Christopher Calkins, St. Augustine (1:14.26); Women - Kim Pawelek, Jacksonville (1:21.00)

Defending marathon champions: Men - Genna Tufa, Peekskill, N.Y. (2:21.44); Women - Tatiana Titova, Gainesville (2:51.09)