St. Petersburg Times Online
 Devil Rays Forums

printer version

Solutions

By JOHN TORRO

© St. Petersburg Times, published January 17, 2000


In this case, deleted means deleted

Q. I had a lot of items in my Deleted Items Folder. I clicked Empty Deleted Items Folder, and it deleted all the sub-folders under it. Were these folders erased from my computer or are they hidden somewhere? I use Windows 95 and Outlook Express.

A. Sorry -- in this case, delete means delete. Items deleted within the Outlook Deleted Items Folder do not go to the Restore Bin. If you had a backup of your system you could find the folder in a file with a name similar to C:\WINDOWS\Application Data\Identities\{7A42FBC5-706E-11D3-99DC-00E0291C6B0D}\Microsoft\Outlook Express\Deleted Items.dbx

Printing a Favorites list

Q. I would like to print my Favorites list.

A. From the Internet Explorer menu bar click File, Import and Export. This will start the Import and Export Wizard. Click Next, select Export Favorites, click Next, Select to select the folder within Favorites to print (or leave the cursor at the top to print all) and click Next. The next part of the dialog will default to printing your Favorites to an HTM file. Note the folder where this will be created or browse to a destination folder of your choice. You can leave the file suffix as an HTM file, which when double-clicked will display the Favorites list within Internet Explorer, then you can print from there. Changing the default file suffix to something else (such as TXT, DOC, etc.) will allow you to edit and print the list in another application.

Viewing an animated gif

Q. When I receive an animated gif in Microsoft Outlook, it is animated. However, if I save the gif and open it with MGI Photo Suite, I get a still, non-animated gif. How can I change this so it is animated?

A. You'll need to associate gif files with a program that understands animated gifs, such as Internet Explorer. To do this, right-click the gif file while holding the Shift key. Select Open With . . . from the content menu. Then select IExplore from the program list. To make this association permanent, click the "Always use this program to open this type of file" option.

Determining directory sizes

Q. I have been trying to get rid of unused information on my hard drive. Is there any way to determine the size of a given directory in Windows Explorer without manually adding up the sizes of each of the subdirectories? After adding up the information I gathered (550 megabytes), the sum does not come anywhere near the total reported by properties in My Computer (850mb). I have checked and find only 25Mb of hidden files. Where is this disk space being used? I have found the following temp files -- WINTEMP and TEMP in C:, and TEMP and TEMPORARY INTERNET FILES in WINDOWS. Can the data in these files be removed without causing harm to my system?

A. Through Windows Explorer, right-click on any directory and choose Properties. This will display the total amount of disk space being used by that directory and those subordinate to it. Normally any of the files in \Windows\Temp can be deleted (do this by booting first to DOS). The \Windows\Temporary Internet Files can be deleted through the Internet Explorer menu bar option of Tools, Internet Options, Temporary File Settings.

Keeping your surfing history

Q. I read somewhere that to clear the URL address list in Internet Explorer, you had to use the Registry. Since that was not my intention, I felt safe in going to the Internet Options panel to clear History. When I clicked the Clear History button, it not only cleared the History, it also eliminated the URLs in the Address drop-down list. To make matters worse, now I cannot accumulate URLs in that list. Can I restore the URLs that were in the Address drop-down list?

A. Make sure that the "Days to keep pages in history" option is not set to zero (Tools, Internet Options). Keep in mind that the URL history list keeps only those URLs that you type in.

Deleting files

Deleted files normally get moved to your Recycle Bin where you can later "undelete' them if necessary. However, holding the Shift key while deleting a file really will delete the file and not have it take up room in the Recycle Bin.

Back to Tech Times

Back to Top
© St. Petersburg Times. All rights reserved.