St. Petersburg Times Online: News of northern Pinellas County
Place an Ad Calendars Classified Forums Sports Weather
  • Rezoning approved for office complex
  • Disbarred attorney charged with theft
  • Woman accused of fleecing elderly man
  • Another smoker killed in home blaze
  • Suspect arrested in 3 bank heists
  • Flames shoot up vent through roof
  • Civility, productivity return to Tarpon Springs government
  • Fears shouldn't keep restrooms from park
  • Dunedin Masonic lodge installs officers
  • New postmaster named for Dunedin
  • Free safety checks for boats offered
  • Scanga squad, Kampman take tourney titles
  • A Stirling thank-you
  • Times staff writer
  • Best bets


    printer version

    Scanga squad, Kampman take tourney titles


    © St. Petersburg Times, published February 16, 2001

    J.Scanga won the team title and David Kampman captured the singles crown as the 64th annual St. Petersburg Association Championship Tournament ended a two-weekend stand Sunday at Liberty Lanes in Largo.

    The Scanga squad displaced first-weekend leader Halstrom Masonry by toppling 3,518 pins.

    The winning team comprised Bill Heym, Ray Baumbauch, Jason Scanga (754), Mike LaBranche and Joe Bereczki (758). Layin in the Hole finished second at 3,498, and Halstrom Masonry dropped to third at 3,436.

    Chrispiano's, which finished eighth last year with a 3,309 total, improved to seventh with three pins less at 3,303. Brian Halstrom fired a 290 game for Halstrom Masonry.

    Kampman's first-weekend 784 series held against the final onslaught last weekend.

    Jason Dick fired a 775 and Joe Dluzak a 773 to finish second and third, respectively, dropping James Hamilton (756) and Kirk Vail (755) into fourth and fifth. Ken Kokemohr's 300 game left him tied for 11th with William Lawson at 732.

    Marilyn Bartsch, one of several women holding association ABC cards, finished sixth at 752. Defending singles champion Darryl Dempsey did not make the top 15 placers.

    Bryan Leway and Richie Sancho won the doubles title with a 1,501 pinfall. Dick and Matt Correa were second, and Alan Rushton and Kampman finished third.

    Rushton and Kampman were the first weekend leaders at 1,439. Defending doubles champions Tom Pankratz and Dempsey were shut out, finishing fourth at 1,438.

    High games included a 300 by Bob Dalena and Ken Kokemohr, Mike Pittman's 299, Tom Milton's 296 and Halstrom's 290.

    Results are unofficial until all averages are verified, after which checks will be mailed to the winners and placers.

    With 81 teams, the top 10 cash, 360 singles entries pays down 44 spots, 180 doubles entries pays through 22 spots and 245 all-events entries will cash 24 spots.

    "We drew 76 teams last year, so that's an improvement," said association president Ron Paige. "And we were way ahead on singles, doubles and all-events entries so we must be doing something right."

    HOLLY, ROBINSON LEAD: Chris Holly's 672 series and Jessica Robinson's 502 head the Class AA Scratch Divisions after the first weekend of the Upper Pinellas YABA's 41st annual Tournament of Champions at Dunedin Lanes.

    Mochedda 4-eva leads the AA team event with a 2,290 pinfall. The Strike Stealers head the Class A competition with a 2,741.

    Rainbow CEL No. 1 is the Class B leader at 2,455. The Crew heads the Class C division at 1,517, and The Pearls are the Class D leaders at 2,487.

    Holly and Jeff Catton lead Class AA doubles with a 1,188 pinfall. The class is for scratch bowlers.

    Other doubles leaders are Graham Martin-Sean Burnett, Jolene Schotter-Diane Weaver and Alessa Bell-Allen Conner. Atop the singles are Amy Gundel, Suzanne Schalow, Keisha James, Tim Powers, Sean Burnett, Mathew Uelmenn, Antony Kinney and Bell.

    There were 34 teams and 100 singles entries. The tournament concludes this weekend.

    NABI WINNERS: Palm Harbor's Linda Peters, St. Petersburg's Craig Willner and Clearwater's Valerie Scheid each won their first NABI events over the past three weekends.

    Peters defeated Shirley Bond 238-235 at Liberty Lanes on Jan. 28 to earn $260. Clearwater's Frank Ballou was third and received $195 in the Platinum Division.

    Willner defeated St. Petersburg's Vince Davis 237-160 for $375. John Lewis, Shore Acres, was third, and Palm Harbor's Phil Peters won the Platinum Division and $240.

    Scheid recorded a 209-172 and earned $300 on Sunday at AMF Clearwater Lanes.

    NABI bowlers will be at Seminole Lanes this weekend.

    AROUND THE LANES: Rick Galante rolled a 289-802 at Countryside Lanes. ... George Allen managed a 300-749 at Dunedin Lanes. ... Al Lewis nailed a 300 and Corbie Wilson and Roy Verrochio rolled 299 games at Liberty Lanes. ... The entry deadline is Saturday for the Clearwater Women's Association City Tournament, which is scheduled in March at Dunedin Lanes. ... The registration deadline closes Feb. 26 for the St. Petersburg Women's Association City Tournament, which is scheduled in March at AMF Kenneth City Lanes.

    - Phil Gulick can be reached at or

    Back to North Pinellas news
    Back to Top

    © 2006 • All Rights Reserved • Tampa Bay Times
    490 First Avenue South • St. Petersburg, FL 33701 • 727-893-8111
    Special Links
    Mary Jo Melone
    Howard Troxler

    From the Times
    North Pinellas desks