[an error occurred while processing this directive]

printer version

Military news


© St. Petersburg Times, published March 22, 2001

Civil Air Patrol Group 8 honors cadets, squadron

The Bayside Bridge Composite Squadron was honored in a special ceremony Feb. 16 at St. Paul United Methodist Church in Largo.

Squadron Cmdr. Frank Karayianes received the Squadron of the Year Award, which recognized the squadron's contributions to the community and support of all Civil Air Patrol programs.

Cadet Nick Borgfeldt of Largo High School received the Mitchell Award and was promoted to second lieutenant. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Nick Borgfeldt Sr. of Clearwater.

Cadet Michael Karayianes of Countryside High School received the U.S. Air Force Association Cadet of the Year Award. Karayianes was recently promoted to first lieutenant. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Frank Karayianes of Palm Harbor.

Cadet Bobby Hollingsworth of Tarpon Springs High School received the Earhart Award and was promoted to captain. He is the son of Stephanie O'Reilly of Palm Harbor and Robert Hollingsworth of St. Petersburg.

The Civil Air Patrol, U.S. Air Force Auxiliary, provides aerospace education, cadet programs and emergency services to the community.

-- To submit an item to this column, write to Lorri Helfand, 710 Court St., Clearwater, FL 33756.

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Back to North Pinellas news

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

  • Road rattles an urban Eden
  • Old clothes can help community programs
  • Hairstylist to set up shop on national stage
  • Curlew Creek complaints addressed
  • Oldsmar tests playground soil
  • North Pinellas digest
  • Slaying baffles homicide investigators
  • Boy's 911 call makes him a hero
  • Thanks for answer about Alt. U.S. 19
  • Wanting a view, they would erode safety
  • Film foundation plans Oscar night fundraiser
  • North Pinellas digest
  • Ex-baseball player is tops in singles
  • Military news
  • Not your everyday pets
  • Teachers draw on expertise of speakers