St. Petersburg Times Online: News of northern Pinellas County
Place an Ad Calendars Classified Forums Sports Weather
  • Motel owner sues city to block Marriott resort
  • Jazz fest asks city to double donation
  • Squirt is gone from fountain landmark
  • Letter by chief triggers reminder
  • Commissioners share downtown vision
  • Worker accused of bilking woman
  • North Pinellas digest
  • Pinellas Park theaters open to large crowds
  • New store rewards devotion
  • Casino boats bring tourists, but not their money
  • Rain washes out Sunshine's day
  • Achievers
  • A helping hand with reading


    printer version



    © St. Petersburg Times, published April 3, 2001

    Honors and Awards

    Christopher Robin Thompson, a senior at Dunedin High School, received the 2001 Good Citizen Award from the Caladesi Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution. The award is presented each year to a senior who best demonstrates service, leadership and patriotism. Thompson has served as treasurer and vice president of the the student council. He is a member of the National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta and Dunedin ROTC cadet corps. He is a pianist for the Dunedin High Jazz Band and edits the yearbook advertising and swimming sections. He volunteers for World Changers church group and as an usher at Ruth Eckerd Hall. Thompson plans to attend Florida Institute of Technology. He is the son of Dale and Carol Thompson of Palm Harbor.

    The Caladesi Chapter of the DAR also recognized Southeastern regional winners for the Junior American Citizen Contest titled "America's Monuments." First-grader Kevin Cregan and second-grader Paul Fack of Highland Christian Academy won first place, and 11th-grader Christina Louis of Dunedin Academy received an honorable mention in the essay competition. First-grader Robert C. Culmone of Dunedin Academy won first place and first-grader Michael Zarvalas of Highland Christian Academy won third place in the stamp design competition.

    Kim Marston Jr., a junior at Dunedin High School, has been selected as a page for the Florida Senate and House of Representatives. He is the founder of the Dunedin Education Foundation, a student body representative and student body liaison to the city of Dunedin. He has been appointed to the Mayor's Advisory Committee for the city of Dunedin and the new Pinellas County Youth Advisory Committee by Barbara Sheen Todd, the vice-chairman of the Board of County Commissioners. He is the son of Kim and Rita Marston of Dunedin.

    Eddie Berry, a seventh-grader at Our Lady of Lourdes School, won a national essay contest sponsored by the White House Historical Association. His winning essay on John Adams earned him a three-day trip to Washington, D.C., and a guided tour of the White House for him and three guests. He is the son of Christopher K. and Natalie Berry of Tarpon Springs

    Elizabeth Cigoi, a sophomore at East Lake High School, has been selected by the Able Trust as one of 42 delegates for the Florida Youth Leadership Forum. The forum is a statewide leadership conference for high school juniors and seniors with disabilities. Delegates were selected based on leadership potential. She volunteers for Family, Career, and Community Leaders of America, Special Olympics, Mainsail Fine Arts Center, St. Vincent de Paul Soup Kitchen and YMCA. After graduation, she plans to attend college and study music and dance.

    Rhiana M. McFarlin, a seventh-grader at Safety Harbor Middle School, was named an All-American Scholar by the U. S. Achievement Academy. The program recognizes superior students who have been recommended by coaches, counselors and qualified sponsors. She is the daughter of Rob and Sandy McFarlin of Safety Harbor.

    Ten Pinellas County students have been selected to participate at the state level for the National Geographic Bee, sponsored by the National Geographic Society. The finalists are Meera Bhakta, Kennedy Middle School; Christopher Climbo, St. Paul's School; Daniel Hemme, Safety Harbor Middle School; John Barger, Shorecrest Preparatory School; Mason Walker, Pinellas Park Middle School; Sammy Cheikelard, Wellington Shool; Jason Conage-Pough, Bay Point Middle School; John Vermazen, Seminole Middle School; Jennifer Adzima, Skycrest Christian School; and Christopher Rossbach, Pinellas County Home School Group.

    - To submit an item to this column, write to Lorri Helfand, 710 Court St., Clearwater, FL 33756.

    Back to North Pinellas news

    Back to Top

    © 2006 • All Rights Reserved • Tampa Bay Times
    490 First Avenue South • St. Petersburg, FL 33701 • 727-893-8111
    Special Links
    Mary Jo Melone
    Howard Troxler

    From the Times
    North Pinellas desks