St. Petersburg Times Online: Pasco County news
Place an Ad Calendars Classified Forums Sports Weather

printer version

Class notes

By Times staff reports

© St. Petersburg Times, published May 23, 2001

School Calendar

Friday is the last day of school.

High School Commencement Exercises for Land O'Lakes, Pasco, Wesley Chapel and Zephyrhills High School will be held at 8 p.m. Friday at each school.

Academy at the Farm Charter School: Applications are being accepted for the 2002 school year. For information, call (352) 588-9737.

Denham Oaks Elementary: Fifth-grade banquet and award ceremony, 12:30 p.m. Wednesday. Parents may attend the ceremony at 2 p.m. followed by a reception.

Pasco High: Graduation Ceremony, 8 p.m. Friday.

Wesley Chapel High: Band banquet, 7 p.m. Thursday at Lake Jovita. For tickets, call band director Mary Harvey at (813) 794-8700 or (352) 524-8700.

Woodland Elementary: Fifth-grade luncheon and awards ceremony, today.


The following students from Pine View Middle School were first-place winners in the Pasco County History Bowl held at the District Office on April 25: James Valentine, captain, William Franklin, Michael Huges, Jesse Hutson, Scott Mays and Jessica Retzlaff. Mr. Jim Sawl was their coach.

* * *

Daniel Davis has been named the 2001 PRIDE writing winner at Woodland Elementary School. Karla Miranda, Kristen Arnold and Andy Patrias also were recognized for their outstanding writing skills. School-level Tropicana Speech Winners: Kevin Csanadi, first place; Cody Cornstock, second place; and Joshua Jones, third place. Honorable mentions went to: Michelle Belloti, Emily Kozina, Alyssa Stewart and Samantha Calhoun. Classroom winners: Kristen Arnold, Erica Collura, Nick Burgess, Stephanie Pippins, Josh Jeffries, Tara Peabody, Ashley Martin, Zack Mills-Moore, Jamie Thomas, Sarah Hinkle, Christina Keppel, Jade Bennett, Kimberly Sweitzer and Andy Patrias. These students were named winners of the Pasco County Expressionist Contest: Cody Bowden, Kim Brown, Corey Newton, Alicia Salazar, Chad Linville, Zachary Brooks and Alissa Reese.

* * *

Danny D'Antonio was named Student of the Month at Zephyrhills High School. Ms. Marta Cuevas, an English Speakers of Other Languages paraprofessional, was named School Related Person of the Month. Ms. Idel Lane, Diversified Cooperative Training coordinator, was named Teacher of the Month. Chandel Freiermuth was named Chamber of Commerce Citizen of the Month. Pasco County Math Contest winners: Calculus Team and Carolyn Young for calculus, first place; Geometry Team, Mike Nelson for Calculous and Shawn Newman for Geometry, second place; Brian Milligan for Calculus, third place; Precalculus Team, fourth place; Algebra II Team and Mat Williams for Algebra, fifth place. Top Dog recipients were: Theresa Cerf, Josh Harrington and Lew Sones. These students competed in the 20th Annual Congressional Art Competition for High School Art Students and received a certificate from Representative Mike Bilirakis: Sara Burnette, Jamie Czeremcha, Kim Flaherty, Melissa Miller, Andrew Prilliman, Katrina Tan and Arkela Teartt.

* * *

Jimmy Cracchiolo and Bambi Carrino were named the 2001 Male and Female Scholar Athletes for Wesley Chapel High School. University Community Hospital Sports Care sponsors this award. To be considered, students must have a minimum 3.0 grade point average, participate in a school sport, be a solid citizen and be nominated by a head coach from the school. Other nominated students were: Jason Boyd, Garret Gaudens, Matt Harden, Gabe Lopez, Paula Clausnitzer, Stephanie Lane, Christina Lucin, Ashley Martin, Meaghan McHugh, Melissa Reed and Autumn Yanchunis.

* * *

Natalie Ashmore and Crystal Forcier, students at Raymond B. Stewart Middle School, placed third in the Horticulture Demonstration Contest on April 17. The boys soccer team was honored with an award from the St. Petersburg Times for being the athletic team with the highest grade point average.

* * *

Tye Reedy was named Outstanding Student at Pasco High School. Tye Reedy and Elizabeth Warfel were honored with the Principal's Scholar/Athlete Award. Tye Reedy was named winner of the Principal's Leadership Award. Junior Aaron Beaudoin earned a perfect 800 in math on his college entrance exam. Jenelle Capehart was named winner of the McDonald's African-American Scholarship.

* * *

The following Wesley Chapel High School students have earned eligibility for All Conference, All-Academic for earning two varsity letters and maintaining a grade point average of 3.2: Terra Archuleta, Patrick Beals, Kimberly Borrefard, Robert Brill, Bambi Carrino, Paula Clausnitzer, James Cracchiolo, Brett Eisenbrown, Daniel Fagan, David Forry, Holly Gillespie, Stephen Halczyn, Kevin Hanson, Elizabeth Harden, Brenna Lane, Jennifer Leopold, Lindsay Lucado, Brenna McHugh, Meaghan McHugh, Colette Penberthy, Tara Recine, Melissa Reed, Erikka Smith-McIntyre,Sara VanBuskirk, Anthony Vargas, Justin Wortley, Autumn Yanchunis and William Zeranski.

Back to Pasco County news

Back to Top

© 2006 • All Rights Reserved • Tampa Bay Times
490 First Avenue South • St. Petersburg, FL 33701 • 727-893-8111