St. Petersburg Times Online: Business

Weather | Sports | Forums | Comics | Classifieds | Calendar | Movies

Beierlein, Walker enter the SPBA Hall of Fame


© St. Petersburg Times, published June 1, 2001

Drew Beierlein, for achievement, and Bill Walker, for meritorious service, were inducted into the St. Petersburg Bowling Association Hall of Fame last month during the SPBA's annual delegates meeting in Seminole.

Drew Beierlein, for achievement, and Bill Walker, for meritorious service, were inducted into the St. Petersburg Bowling Association Hall of Fame last month during the SPBA's annual delegates meeting in Seminole.

All officers ran unopposed, so the delegates voted to accept the entire board.

Ron Paige continues his second year as president, Don Hamilton is first vice president, Bruce Silvey second vice president, Jim Higdon third vice president and Harvey Schultz fourth vice president. Bill Zuben was elected executive president, and Dennis Coatney and Jerry Vann continued as directors. New directors are Mike White, Jim Jones and Ron Mowbray.

Plaques were presented to the city tournament champions.

Bill Heym, Jason Scanga, Joe Bereczki, Mike LaBranche and Ray Baumbach won the team title. Richie Santo and Bryan Leway were the doubles winners, and Santo earned a second plaque as the all-events winner. Dave Kampman captured the singles championship, and Hall of Famer Darryl Dempsey took the scratch all-events honor -- his fourth consecutive title.

Beierlein joins his father, Harry, as the only father-son team in the Hall, and his mother, Joan, is in the St. Petersburg Women's Association Hall of Fame. Drew is a 31-year member of the association and was on city championship teams in 1988 and 1999. He averaged 220 or better for six straight years and owns 12 300 games and four 800 series.

Walker has served the association for 11 years as director, fourth vice president, sergeant-at-arms and city tournament director. He won the Bob Atheney Service Award last season for outstanding dedication to the association.

HURRICANES STRIKE: The Palm Harbor University High Hurricanes won four of the six titles as the Upper Pinellas High School League ended an 11-week season last month.

Led by Josh Guinand, Jon Wilson and Chris Fitzgibbon and Teresa Scanlon and Kelly Fecke on the girls side, the Hurricanes won both divisions of the boys scratch and the girls scratch and handicap titles.

East Lake prevented the sweep by capturing both divisions of the boys handicap competition.

During the season, Fitzgibbon averaged 202 with a league-high 722 series, second behind Pinellas Park's J.R. Foraker (206). Wilson rolled a 300 game and recorded the highest win percentage (.750).

Fecke had a league-high 658 series and the third best average (183). Scanlon averaged 177 with a 592 high series. Countryside's Jennifer Gross had the high average (186), a second-high 254 game and fourth-high series of 619.

East Lake was led by Anthony Xedus, Jordan Major, Brandon Kozloff, Jared Kramer and Lenny Gajewski.

Five league players qualified for the Junior Olympic Gold Nationals, scheduled for July in Reno, Nev.

SMOLKA WINS: Bob Smolka defeated Rick Ickes 276-222 to win the Florida Bowlers Club event at AMF Kenneth City Lanes on May 6.

Smolka fired a 279 game and followed with a 244 to become the top-seeded player in the finals. Tim Smith defeated Bill Zuben 268-192 in the first match, then Ickes stopped Smith 247-197 to gain a semifinal berth.

Steve Kenyon became another Ickes victim, 269-246, as Ickes reached the final. He rolled a four-game 964 set to become the top qualifier.

FALZONE TOPS: St. Petersburg's Al Falzone defeated Pinellas Park's Sean Mackintosh 210-203 to win his first NABI title and $325 at AMF Kenneth City Lanes on May 6.

St. Petersburg's Larry Townsend, who rolled a 300-815 in qualifying, finished third. Clearwater's Jerri Eggleston was fourth, and Marc Armstrong of St. Petersburg was fifth.

Phil Peters, Palm Harbor, won the Platinum Division and $215.

James Mackie stopped John Lewis 236-229 for his first NABI crown and $270 at Sunrise Lanes on May 13. Vince Davis was third, Joe Prater fourth and Joe Wilkes fifth. All finalists were from St. Petersburg.

John Lewis, St. Petersburg, won the Platinum Division and $210.

WHEELCHAIR CHAMPS: David Roberts, Jerry Jones and Leon Thompson emerged as champions in the annual Florida State Wheelchair Association State Tournament at Seminole Lanes on May 6.

Roberts, from Clover, Va., defeated Melbourne's Roger Templar 210-154 to repeat as Scratch Division champion. Larry Chauncey, Zephyrhills, stopped two opponents before falling to Roberts 205-190 in a semifinal.

Jones, from California, beat Bradenton's Bill Johnson 188-177 to successfully defend his A Division handicap title. Palm Harbor's Wayne Webber, the tournament director, was turned back by Jones in a semifinal.

Thompson was crowned the B Division handicap champ after defeating Sarasota's Peter Poulin 208-179. Jay Stagg, Indian Rocks Beach, reached the semifinals, where he was ousted by Poulin.

SENIORS MATCH PLAY: Larry Hofacker came out of the losers bracket to stop Drew Beierlein 725-657, but lost the rubber match and the Senior All-Star Match Play Championship to Beierlein at Sunshine Bowl last month.

Both players ended in the losers bracket after Hofacker's win, but Beierlein came back to take the title match 666-589.

AROUND THE LANES: Phil Peters rolled a 300-802 and John Garrett a 300-759 at Countryside Lanes. ... Seminole Lanes general manager Kevin Krauss recorded his first 800 (279-279-803), Drew Beierlein fired a 300-766, Joe Bereczki logged a 300-811, Dick Correa nailed a 299-811 and Dick Rounds had a 300 game at Seminole. ... Robbie Winkleman won the Troy Carlson Memorial Award and a $500 college scholarship for sportsmanship at Seminole Lanes.

- Phil Gulick can be reached at

© Copyright, St. Petersburg Times. All rights reserved.