St. Petersburg Times Online: Business

Weather | Sports | Forums | Comics | Classifieds | Calendar | Movies

Times hands out $82,200 in journalism scholarships


© St. Petersburg Times, published August 4, 2001

ST. PETERSBURG -- The St. Petersburg Times Scholarship Fund has awarded $82,200 in scholarships to 27 college students interested in careers in journalism.

ST. PETERSBURG -- The St. Petersburg Times Scholarship Fund has awarded $82,200 in scholarships to 27 college students interested in careers in journalism.

Fifteen of the winners worked as interns this summer in the news, advertising and marketing departments of the Times. The others are enrolled in college journalism or communications programs.

The intern winners of named scholarships are:

Christina Jewett of Indiana University. She received the $6,200 Poynter Scholarship, established in 1975 and named for Nelson Poynter, former Times Publishing Co. chairman and former student at IU.

Cate Doty of the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. She received the $5,500 Robert T. Pittman Scholarship, established in 1994 and named for the former Times vice president and editor of editorials. Pittman retired in 1991.

Todd Wright of Florida A&M University. He received the $5,000 Peggy M. Peterman Scholarship, established in 1997 and named for the reporter, columnist and editorial writer who retired in 1996.

Janel Stephens of the University of South Florida. She received the $1,000 Bryanna Latoof Green Scholarship, established in 1998 to honor a reporter who died of breast cancer.

Luke Otten of the Ringling School of Art and Design. He received the $1,000 Gray McGhee Scholarship, established in 1998 to honor the advertising department's art director who died that year of leukemia. This is the second year Otten has received the scholarship.

Interns receiving awards of $3,500 are:

Wendy Clark, University of Florida.

Kevin Graham, USF.

Michael Hartz, Ball State University.

Brian Moore, Western Kentucky University.

Luke Otten, Ringling School of Art and Design.

Matthew Sheehan, University of Maryland. Sheehan also is a Dow Jones Newspaper Fund editing intern.

Janel Stephens, USF.

Amber Tanille Woolfolk, Western Kentucky University.

Students receiving awards of $1,750 are Jennifer Ackerman of the University of Alabama and Matthew Mace of Ball State University.

Students receiving fellowships of $1,000 toward their graduate work are Grace Ugalde of FAMU and R. Carlton Ward Jr. of UF.

Another intern, Robyn Disney, who graduates this month from USF, will receive a $1,000 scholarship from the Association for Women in Sports Media. For the last four years, Disney received a journalism scholarship worth $2,500 annually from the Times Scholarship Fund.

Another 12 students who are studying journalism in college, but who did not work for the Times this summer, also were awarded scholarships worth $2,500 annually. They are:

Charles Cardwell, USF; Laura Ciociola, UF; Jeff Darlington, UF; Mauli Desai, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill; Lindsay Foster, USF; Autumn Guthrie, USF; Jessica Hu, Harvard University; Whitney LaPolla, UF; Tiffany Pendleton, Northwestern University; Nathan Perez, UNC-Chapel Hill; Brent Solomon, UF; Daniel Stein, Yale University.

The scholarship fund, originally called the Poynter Fund, was established in 1953 by Times Publishing Co. to encourage and financially assist students interested in journalism. Times Publishing produces the St. Petersburg Times as well as Congressional Quarterly and Florida Trend and Governing magazines.

© Copyright, St. Petersburg Times. All rights reserved.