St. Petersburg Times Online: News of northern Pinellas County
Place an Ad Calendars Classified Forums Sports Weather
  • Proposed rec center charges
  • Youth worker faces new charges
  • Pupils rally to help boy battle cancer
  • Beethoven's lawyers face new fight after court rejects appeal
  • Number of low-weight babies on the rise
  • Commissioners do their homework on church project
  • Thanks for cracking down on bad drivers
  • 8 officers move up; 1 moves out to become a police chief
  • County burns now to prevent future wildfires
  • County high school league crowns team champions
  • Holiday happenings
  • Best bets
  • Mark your calendar
  • Dunedin dialing up new phone system


    printer version

    County high school league crowns team champions


    © St. Petersburg Times, published December 8, 2000

    Four teams won titles as the Pinellas County High School League closed its 28th season Thursday at Seminole Lanes.

    Palm Harbor captured the girls scratch championship, and Seminole took the handicap crown.

    The boys champions were Gibbs in scratch and East Lake in handicap.

    Many squads are headed for the state tournament, which is scheduled for Saturday at Don Carter's Lanes in Lake Worth. The Gibbs boys are the defending Open Division champs.

    Kelly Fecke, Teresa Scanlon, Patty Wilkinson, Abby Mello and Erin Duffy sparked Palm Harbor to a 225-27 points mark.

    St.Petersburg No.1 was second and Northeast No.1 third in the girls scratch competition.

    Fecke averaged 182 and Scanlon 166 for the season.

    Seminole, a five-time league champion, was paced by Brigitte Bailey, Nikki Albright, Sarah Presler, Brandi Berarducci, Dawn Rosengren and Alicia Norton.

    They enabled the Warhawks to clip Pinellas Park No. 2 and Countryside for the girls handicap crown. Bailey averaged 165.

    Matt Mayhugh and his Gibbs teammates defeated East Lake No. 1 in the first scratch roll-off to cement the title. Defending boys scratch champion, Dixie Hollins, finished second, and East Lake was third.

    Mayhugh averaged 218 and was backed by Steve Troesch, Nick Bongiorno and Justin Morris.

    East Lake No.1 sent Jared Kramer, Greg Kashmanian, Ryan Price and Drew Anusbigian to the line against their schoolmates, East Lake No. 2, to win the boys handicap title.

    Lenny Gajewski, Derek Perryman, Adam Elmassen, Jamal Al-Saleh, Daniel Hinchee and Billy Volker made up East Lake No.2.

    The league will consider modifying the schedule next season so that schools will not compete against themselves.

    Season high scorers were Tanya Veitch, 259 scratch game; Fecke, 626 series; Erica Myers, 809 handicap series; Justin Veitch, 300 scratch game; Mayhugh, 791 scratch series; and Rick Bell, 858 handicap series.

    The Gibbs boys team's 969 scratch game and 2,666 series led the league.

    * * *

    Regional pro-am: Pro-am players hit the boards today at Countryside Lanes.

    Youngsters, adults and seniors will pair with the pros for three, no-tap games. Walk-in entries are accepted.

    The youngsters' pro-am squad, which will have a $20 registration fee, rolls at 4 p.m.. The seniors, who have a $25 fee, compete at 6 p.m. Adult pro-ams, with a $45 entry, are at 4, 6, 8 and 10 p.m.

    The 150-man pro field practices today from 1:30-3:30 p.m. It gets serious Saturday with qualifying that starts at 9 a.m.

    The top 16 qualifiers return Sunday for 16 match-play games before the cut to the top five for the stepladder finals that afternoon.

    Admission is $2 per day.

    * * *

    Kroeger's 822: Last week at Dunedin Lanes, Jodi Kroeger of Dunedin rolled a 290-822 -- the second-highest women's scratch series in Pinellas County and the highest in the Clearwater Women's Association.

    Debi Kidd logged a state series record 300-826 last year at Liberty Lanes.

    Kroeger recorded her first 300 game (753) in October at Dunedin Lanes, becoming the 21st Pinellas County women to do so.

    * * *

    NABI winners: Sarasota's Ron Brown and Clearwater's Frank Ballou captured NABI Club titles recently at AMF Kenneth City Lanes and Seminole Lanes, respectively.

    Brown won his first championship, defeating St. Petersburg's Vince Davis 190-175 for a $250 prize.

    Ballou stopped Clearwater's Len Macaluso 216-194 for his first title and $225.

    * * *

    Around the lanes: Scott Salkill rolled an 848 series at Seminole Lanes, and Wayne Nickson fired a 300-661. The Pinellas County men's scratch series mark is 878, which was set by Largo's Paul Victory in 1997 at Liberty Lanes. Roger Wise Jr. recorded a 300-737 at AMF Kenneth City Lanes Chuck Miller posted a 300-746 at Dunedin Lanes Sam Ardi shot a 300-732 at Countryside Lanes, and Brian Rolston rolled a 300-719 Wayne Luecke compiled a 299 game at Rainbow LanesDrew Gauthier fired a 300-708 at Sunrise Lanes, Stuart Jacobs shot a 300-701 and Marc Harvey had a 298-735.

    - Phil Gulick can be reached at or

    Back to North Pinellas news
    Back to Top

    © 2006 • All Rights Reserved • Tampa Bay Times
    490 First Avenue South • St. Petersburg, FL 33701 • 727-893-8111
    Special Links
    Mary Jo Melone
    Howard Troxler

    From the Times
    North Pinellas desks