St. Petersburg Times Online: Business

Weather | Sports | Forums | Comics | Classifieds | Calendar | Movies

33 compete for four Times scholarships

The 33 semifinalists will be pared to 10 to 12. Four winners will be announced in mid-March.

By Times staff writer

© St. Petersburg Times, published December 21, 2000

Thirty-three local high school seniors have been chosen as semifinalists for the 2001 St. Petersburg Times Scholarship. More than 250 students from Citrus, Hernando, Pasco, Hillsborough and Pinellas counties applied.

The scholarship program, which was created by the newspaper in 1999, is for students who show academic achievement, financial need, and participation in extracurricular activities and community service, and who have overcome significant obstacles in their lives. The scholarship is worth up to $15,000 per year for four years at an accredited U.S. college or university.

The 11 young men and 22 young women now must complete the second portion of the application, answering essay questions and supplying family financial information and letters of recommendation from a high school counselor and another adult. That information will be reviewed in early February, and 10 to 12 finalists will be selected. They will be interviewed in St. Petersburg in late February. Four winners will be announced in mid-March.

The scholarships are funded by the St. Petersburg Times Scholarship Fund, which has been assisting students since 1953.

Last year's four winners are enrolled at Duke University in Durham, N.C., Cornell University in Ithaca, N.Y., and St. John's College in New Mexico.

Here are the semifinalists and the schools they attend:

CITRUS COUNTY: Ms. Jillian DeNisco, Crystal River High School; Christopher Glenn, Crystal River High School.

HERNANDO COUNTY: Ms. Shannon Clay, Glenhaven Academy; Ms. Mary Cseh, Central High School.

HILLSBOROUGH COUNTY: Jenhao Cheng, Tampa Bay Technical High School; Ms. Sarah Chung, Bloomingdale High School; Ms. Taryn Coffaro, H.B. Plant High School; Khoa Do, Hillsborough High School; Chad Gordon, Blake High School; Ms. Ronda Green, Tampa Bay Technical High School; Ms. Heather Henderson, Sickles High School; Ms. Dorothy Jackson, Robinson High School; Ms. Myesha Johnson, King High School; Ms. Jihee Kim, East Bay High School; Ms. Nina Lacevic, Gaither High School; Ms. Brandy Masters, Armwood High School; Ms Anh Thu Nguyen, Tampa Bay Technical High School; Ms. Megan Priest, Blake High School; Jaime Rios, Bloomingdale High School; Khanh Vo, Jefferson High School.

PASCO COUNTY: Ms. Kimberly Qualters, River Ridge High School; Ms. Magdalena Stolarczyk, Hudson High School.

PINELLAS COUNTY: Randy Banks, Northeast High School; Sean Bennington, Palm Harbor University High School; Michael Boccacino, Palm Harbor University High School; Ms. Macy Chaiken, Dixie Hollins High School; YiFan Guo, Lakewood High School; Ms. Marta Hubert, Clearwater High School; Jerry Hunt, Largo High School; Ms. Amanda O'Sullivan, Clearwater High School; Ms. Heidi Rochester, St. Petersburg High School; Ms. Anne Ryder, Keswick Christian School; Ms. Natalie Whitney, Largo High School.

© Copyright, St. Petersburg Times. All rights reserved.